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Date of Hearing:   April 17, 2012 

 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON HIGHER EDUCATION 

Marty Block, Chair 

 AB 2296 (Block) – As Amended:  April 9, 2012 

 

SUBJECT:   Private Postsecondary Education Act of 2009: disclosures. 

 

SUMMARY:   Requires institutions regulated by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary 

Education (Bureau) to provide additional disclosures to prospective students.  Specifically, this 

bill:   

 

1) Requires institutions regulated by the Bureau to disclose in the school catalogue whether the 

institution is accredited by an accrediting agency approved by the United States Department 

of Education (USDE), and, if an institution is unaccredited and offering associate, 

baccalaureate, masters, or doctoral degrees, requires disclosure of the known limitations of 

the degree, including, but not limited to: 

 

a) Whether the degree is recognized for licensure or certification in California and other 

states; 

 

b) Whether a graduate of the degree program will be eligible to sit for the applicable 

licensure exam in California and other states;  

 

c) That a degree from an unaccredited institution is not recognized for some employment 

positions, including, but not necessarily limited to, positions with the State of California; 

and, 

 

d) That a student attending an unaccredited institution is not eligible for federal student 

financial aid programs. 

 

2) Provides for various changes to the Student Performance Fact Sheet, required to be disclosed 

to students prior to enrollment, including: 

 

a) Requires placement rates to be calculated for each program that is designed to lead to, or 

the institution makes a claim related to preparing students for a recognized career, 

occupation, vocation, job, or job title. 

 

b) Requires the disclosure of salary data, regardless of if the institution makes claims as to 

salaries that may be earned upon graduation.  Removes the requirement that institutions 

disclose Employment Development Department (EDD) wage data.   

 

c) Requires each institution to provide the Bureau with data that sufficiently identifies 

graduates of each program, to enable the Bureau, in collaboration with other agencies, to 

verify employment and wages for graduates.  

 

d) Requires, if the institution participates in federal financial aid programs, to disclose the 

most recent three-year cohort default rate reported by the USDE and the percentage of 

enrolled students receiving federal student loans. 
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3) Requires an institution to provide to the Bureau, in the annual report, a list of the occupations 

for which each of the institution's programs are intended to train students using the United 

States Department of Labor Standard Occupational Classification codes. 

 

4) Establishes a new definition for "graduates employed in the field" to mean graduates who are 

gainfully employed in a position for at least 13 weeks and working at least 17.5 hours per 

week in one of the occupations identified by the institution.  For occupations not requiring 

passage of a licensure examination, employment must begin within six months of graduation.  

For occupations that require passage of a licensing examination, employment must begin 

within six months after the announcement of the examination results for the first examination 

available after a student completes a program. 

 

5) Requires that the information used to substantiate Student Performance Fact Sheet data be 

documented and maintained by the institution for five years and to include specific records of 

employment, such as contact information for employers, job descriptions, starting dates and 

hours worked, and contact information for graduates.  Requires this information to be made 

available to the Bureau upon request. 

 

6) Requires an institution that maintains an internet website to provide the school catalog, 

school performance fact sheet, student brochures, a link to the Bureau's website, the most 

recent annual report submitted to the Bureau, and information concerning where students 

may access the Bureau's website anywhere the institution identifies itself as being approved 

by the Bureau. 

  

EXISTING LAW establishes the Private Postsecondary Education Act (Act) which, among its 

numerous provisions, requires numerous program performance and student outcome data 

disclosures and prohibits certain conduct on the part of private postsecondary education 

institutions.  The Act establishes the Bureau within the Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA) 

to provide oversight and regulation of private postsecondary institutions.    

 

FISCAL EFFECT:  Unknown  

 

COMMENTS:  Double-referral.  This bill has been double-referred to the Business, Professions 

and Consumer Protection Committee. 

 

Background.  On February 14, 2012, the Assembly Higher Education Committee conducted a 

joint legislative oversight hearing with the Senate Business, Professions and Economic 

Development Committee to evaluate California's regulatory structure for private postsecondary 

education.  This hearing included a discussion of the Act and the Bureau's implementation of its 

provisions.  As outlined in the hearing, the Act includes numerous provisions that together 

establish a regulatory structure for private postsecondary institutions.  Institutions that are 

covered by the Act are required to follow an evaluation and approval process, to abide by 

numerous "fair business practices" aimed at protecting students, to disclose information to 

students in enrollment agreements and catalogs, to participate in a Student Tuition Recovery 

Fund, and to pay fees to the Bureau to support the oversight structure.  The Act also establishes 

various penalties for non-compliance: providing the Bureau authority to perform site visits and 

investigations, order fines and student refunds, and suspend or revoke an institution's approval to 
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operate.  The Act requires evaluation and reporting from the Legislative Analyst's Office and the 

Bureau of State Audits, and the provisions of the Act are scheduled to Sunset in 2015.     

 

Purpose of this bill.  According to the author, this bill is intended to respond to several of the 

concerns raised in the Committee oversight hearing.  Specifically, this bill aims to increase 

transparency among private colleges and universities and ensure that prospective students have 

all of the information necessary to make informed decisions about where to pursue 

postsecondary education.      
 

Unaccredited degrees.  This bill would require institutions to disclose to students whether the 

institution is accredited and the various limitations of unaccredited degrees.  Accreditation is a 

voluntary, non-governmental peer review process utilized for the purpose of determining 

academic quality of higher education institutions and programs.  Under federal law, USDE is 

required to publish a list of recognized accrediting agencies deemed reliable authorities on the 

quality of education or training provided by their accredited institutions.  Only those institutions 

accredited by a USDE-recognized accrediting organization are eligible to participate in the 

federal student financial assistance programs.  Unaccredited degrees can limit a student's career 

options.  Some career fields and employers require degrees from accredited colleges; this is 

especially true in professions like education and health care, where certification or licensure is a 

pre-requisite for employment. Degrees from unaccredited institutions are not recognized for 

employment with the State of California.  Further, students attending unaccredited institutions 

are not eligible to participate in federal financial aid programs. 

 

Existing law requires institutions offering unaccredited doctoral degrees to disclose to students 

that the degree is unaccredited, along with any known limitations of the degree, including 

whether the degree is recognized for licensure in California or other states.   

 

This bill would expand upon the current requirement by including associate, bachelor's and 

master's level degrees in the disclosure requirement, and would establish the following specific 

disclosure requirements: 

 

1) Whether the degree is recognized for licensure or certification in California and other states 

and whether a graduate of the program will be eligible to sit for the applicable licensure exam 

in California and other states.  These provisions may be somewhat duplicative for California, 

as it appears that all licensure programs require passage of an examination.  However, it is 

unclear if licensure programs that require an accredited degree, but not passage of a licensure 

examination, exist in other states.  

 

2) That a degree from an unaccredited institution is not recognized for some employment 

positions, including positions with the State of California.  Committee staff understands that 

it is the policy of the state to require that, for positions that require a degree, the degree be 

from an accredited institution. 

 

3) That a student attending an unaccredited institution is not eligible for federal financial aid 

programs.  Both federal and state financial aid programs require eligible institutions to be 

accredited by a recognized USDE accreditation agency.  The author may wish to consider an 

amendment to clarify that students are ineligible for both state and federal aid. 
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Student Performance Fact Sheet.  Existing law requires institutions to provide prospective 

students with a Student Performance Fact Sheet.  The Fact Sheet includes data on graduation 

rates, job placement, salary and wage information, and licensure examination passage rates.  The 

Fact Sheet is designed to give students the information necessary to help make informed 

educational choices.  This bill would make several changes to the Fact Sheet. 

 

1) Job placement.  Existing law and regulation requires placement rates to be calculated for 

each program that is designed to lead to, or prepare students for, a specific career or 

occupation.  To be counted as a placement, students must self-identify as gainfully employed 

within six months of graduation in a position for which the skills obtained through their 

education "provided a significant advantage to the student in obtaining the position."  

Institutions must report placements for (1) graduates working less than 34 hours per week in 

a single position, and, (2) graduates working more than 34 hours per week in a single 

position.  Institutions are required to make available to students a list of the employment 

positions used to calculate the job placement rates. 

 

This bill would make several changes to the way placement rates are calculated and reported: 

 

a) Institutions would be required to identify the specific occupations for which each 

program is designed to lead, using the United States Department of Labor's Standard 

Occupational Classification codes.  Only graduates who obtain positions in these 

occupations could be counted in the educational program placement rates.   Committee 

staff understands this change is in response to concerns that placement rates that count 

occupations that are unrelated to an education program may be misleading to a 

prospective student.          

 

b) Institutions would be required to only count placements for graduates employed in a 

single position for at least 13 weeks, working at least 17.5 hours per week in one of the 

identified occupations.  Committee staff understands that the 13 week requirement is 

consistent with the recently enacted federal regulations governing gainful employment 

and placement data.  The author reports that the 17.5 hour per week requirement was 

contained in the former law governing private postsecondary education.  The single 

position requirement is consistent with current regulations.    

 

c) In response to concerns from institutions that delays in the availability of licensure 

examinations affects a student's ability to find employment within six months of 

graduation, this bill would clarify that for occupations requiring a licensing examination, 

placements must begin employment within six months after the announcement of the 

examination results for the first examination available after graduation. 

 

2) Cohort default rate.  This bill would require institutions to disclose on the Fact Sheet (1) the 

percentage of students receiving federal loans and (2) the percentage of student loan defaults 

(three-year cohort default rate, as reported by the USDE).  According to the author, federal 

loan defaults are a key indicator of institutional quality.  This information is readily available 

from the USDE.  This change appears in line with recent Legislative actions (SB 70, 2011) to 

link Cal Grant institutional participation to loan default rates.    

 

3) Salary and wage data.  Existing law requires salary data to be disclosed only if an institution 

makes a claim regarding the potential salary of a graduate.  This bill would require all 
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institutions to disclose salary and wage data.  Supporters of this bill argue that nearly all 

schools suggest to prospective students that they will 'earn a good living' upon graduation, 

but few make specific salary representations, yet under existing law these institutions would 

not be required to disclose salary data.  This bill would also require salary and wage 

disclosures to be based in the actual salary and wage data reported by graduates.    

 

4) Data collection and reporting.  This bill would require the collection and documentation of 

specific data that justifies the information contained in the Student Performance Fact Sheet.  

Institutions would be required to provide these records to the Bureau upon request.  These 

provisions appear consistent with regulations recently adopted by the Bureau. 

 

Website disclosure.  Existing law requires the Bureau to post institutional information such as 

School Performance Fact Sheets and school catalogs on the Bureau website.  However, 

supporters of this bill argue that many students look to institutional websites for information 

regarding programs and performance data.  This bill would require institutions to post on their 

websites specific school and program performance data. 

 

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:    

 

Support  

 

California Faculty Association  

California Psychological Association 

Children's Advocacy Institute 

Consumer Federation of California 

Consumers Union 

Public Advocates 

The Institute for College Access and Success 

University of San Diego, School of Law, Center for Public Interest Law 

 

Opposition  

 

California Association of Private Postsecondary Schools 

 

Analysis Prepared by:    Laura Metune / HIGHER ED. / (916) 319-3960  


