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Date of Hearing:   June 19, 2012 

 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON HIGHER EDUCATION 

Marty Block, Chair 

 SB 122 (Price) – As Amended:  June 12, 2012 

 

SENATE VOTE:   30-6 

 

SUBJECT:   Healing Arts. 

 

SUMMARY:   Authorizes the Board of Registered Nursing (BRN) to receive a fee from 

applicants and for renewal of a school of nursing’s authorization, requires BRN to enter into a 

Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 

(Bureau) to delineate the powers of the Bureau related to consumer protection, as specified, and 

makes changes affecting the Medical Board of California and the Massage Therapy Council.  

Specifically, this bill:    

 

1) Deletes provisions requiring a school of nursing that is not affiliated with an institution of 

higher education to make an agreement with such an institution for purposes of awarding 

nursing degrees and instead authorizes the BRN to grant approval to these institutions to 

grant nursing degrees. 

 

2) Requires the BRN to have an MOU with the Bureau to: 

 

a) Ensure that nursing schools approved by the BRN are not required to pay an additional 

application fee to the Bureau for the addition of a nursing school approved by the BRN. 

 

b) Delineate the powers of the BRN to review and approve schools of nursing approved by 

the BRN, and, 

 

c) Delineate the powers of the Bureau to protect the interest of students attending 

institutions governing by the Private Postsecondary Education (PPE) Act of 2009. 

 

3) Subjects a school of nursing or a new nursing program seeking approval by the BRN to the 

following fee schedule: 

 

a) A fee of $5,000 for approval of a nursing program, 

 

b) A fee of $3,500 for continuing approval of a nursing program established after January 1, 

2013, and, 

 

c) A fee of $500 for processing authorization of a substantive change to an approval of a 

school of nursing. 

 

4) Authorizes the BRN to issue a cease and desist order to a school of nursing not approved by 

the BRN and requires the BRN to notify the Bureau and the Attorney General of such a 

school. 

 

5) Requires meetings of the BRN to be held in northern and southern California. 
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The remaining provisions, which were recently amended into this bill, fall within the purview of 

the Assembly Business, Professions, and Consumer Protection Committee, to which this bill is 

double referred, and include the following: 

 

1) Authorizes the Medical Board of California (Board) to issue a physician and surgeon license 

to an applicant who successfully completed a medical curriculum in a medical school that is 

not approved or recognized by the Board or that has been disapproved by the Board, if the 

applicant meets specified requirements, except that the applicant shall have held an 

unrestricted physician and surgeon license in another state or country for a minimum of five, 

rather than four, years. 

 

2) Requires an applicant for a massage therapist certificate to successfully complete either (a) 

the 500 hours or the credit unit equivalent, as specified in existing law, or (b) the competency 

assessment examination, as specified in existing law, and curricula in massage and related 

subjects totaling a minimum of 250 hours, at a single approved school. 

 

3) Requires the Massage Therapy Council (Council) to immediately suspend the certificate of a 

certificate holder upon receipt of clear and convincing evidence that the holder has 

committed an act punishable as a sexually related crime or felony and to consider any 

available credible mitigating evidence before making a decision to so suspend a certificate.  

Grants the holder of a certificate so suspended the right to a hearing to be held within 30 

days, and requires the Council to send notice of suspension to the certificate holder and to 

other specified businesses. 

 

4) Authorizes a law enforcement agency or local government agency with responsibility for 

regulating massage or massage business, upon request of the Council, to provide information 

to the Council concerning an applicant or certificate holder, including, but not limited to, 

information related to criminal activity or unprofessional conduct allegedly engaged in by 

that person. 

 

5) Authorizes the Council to deny an application or discipline a certificate holder for a 

conviction of a felony, misdemeanor, infraction, or municipal code violation, or liability in 

an administrative or civil action, that is substantially related to the qualifications, functions, 

or duties of a certificate holder, and requires a certificate holder to provide identifying 

information, upon request, as specified. 

 

EXISTING LAW as it pertains to the education-related provisions of this bill: 

 

1) Establishes the Bureau within the Department of Consumer Affairs and provides for Bureau 

oversight and regulation of California private postsecondary institutions pursuant to the PPE 

Act of 2009, including a school of nursing that is not accredited by accrediting agencies 

affiliated with the Western Association of Schools and Colleges or regional accrediting 

agencies recognized by the United States Department of Education.  (Education Code § 

94800 et seq.) 

 

2) Establishes numerous unfair business practices for institutions covered by the PPE Act, 

including prohibiting an institution from promising employment or otherwise overstating the 
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availability of jobs or making untrue or misleading statements regarding student completion, 

placement or expected salary rates.  (EC § 94897) 

 

3) Sets forth certain disclosure requirements pertaining to completion, placement, licensure, and 

earning potential.  (EC § 94928) 

 

4) Authorizes the Bureau to accept the approval provided by another state or federal 

government agency for the addition of a program of study at a Bureau-approved institution 

with no further review by the Bureau.  (EC § 94892) 

 

FISCAL EFFECT:   The Senate Appropriations Committee determined the following costs to the 

BRN Fund for nursing school oversight: 

 

1) Investigations:  $50,000 in 2012-13 and $100,000 annually therafter. 

 

2) Cease and desist actions:  $100,000-$200,000 or more in any year.  

 

3) Revenue:  $120,000-$160,000 annually.   

 

COMMENTS:   This bill is double referred to the Assembly Business, Professions, and 

Consumer Protection Committee, where the issues pertaining the California Medical Board and 

Massage Therapy Council are appropriately considered.  The provisions of this bill that fall 

within the Higher Education Committee's jurisdiction affect the approval of nursing schools and 

the oversight roles of the Bureau, which are the focus of this analysis. 

 

Background.  The BRN is responsible for regulating the practice of registered nurses in 

California, including implementation and enforcement of the laws and regulations related to 

nursing education, licensure, practice and discipline.  In March 2011, the Senate Business, 

Professions, and Economic Development Committee held a sunset review hearing of the BRN, 

which resulted in recommendations for improving numerous BRN functions, including its 

nursing school approval process, in order to decrease the time for approval and increase the 

number of for-profit nursing schools.   

 

Need for this bill.  According to information provided by the author, the average length of time 

for initial BRN approval of a nursing school application is 18 months, but there have been 

instances when the process has taken four to five years, especially if the applicant is a for-profit 

institution.  With over 41,500 qualified applicants in 2009-10 and the ability of both public and 

private programs to admit only about 14,200 applicants in 2009-10, the BRN must find ways to 

improve its approval process so that private for-profit schools have an equal chance of meeting 

the requirements to provide nursing programs.   

 

BRN sunset review recommendations.  The BRN is responsible for ensuring that applicants to 

operate a nursing school program are in compliance with statutory and regulatory requirements.  

The sunset review report recommended the BRN explore any opportunity to streamline their 

current nursing program approval process, including providing staff training to more consistently 

apply rules and regulations to new programs, authorizing BRN to charge a fee to cover its costs 

for approving new schools, having the BRN assume student protection provisions currently 

required under the PPE Act, and removing the involvement of the Bureau in approving nursing 
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schools. 

 

The role of the Bureau and its fee.  The Bureau is generally responsible for protecting consumers 

and students against fraud, misrepresentation, or other business practices at private 

postsecondary institutions that may lead to loss of students' tuition and related educational funds; 

establishing and enforcing minimum standards for ethical business practices and the health and 

safety and fiscal integrity of postsecondary education institutions; and establishing and enforcing 

minimum standards for instructional quality and institutional stability for all students in all types 

of private postsecondary educational and vocational institutions.   

 

Under existing law, if a Bureau-approved institution is granted approval to offer a program by 

the relevant licensing board (such as the BRN), the Bureau may simply incorporate that approval 

into the institution's approval to operate from the Bureau after it has received documentation 

signifying the approval by the relevant agency.  The Bureau does not charge an application fee in 

these cases.  However, the institution would include any income from the students enrolled in 

these programs when calculating their annual fees owed to the Bureau.  Thus, the provision of 

this bill that requires the Bureau to waive its fee for nursing school applicants under an MOU 

with the BRN is unnecessary, since the Bureau already has this authority and follows this 

practice.   

 

Author's amendment.  The author has agreed to accept the following amendment to remove 

language pertaining to the Bureau's authority to charge an application fee:  

 

Page 7, line 30:  … the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education to ensure that institutions 

approved by the bureau are not required to pay an additional application fee to the bureau for the 

addition of a school of nursing approved by the board, and to delineate the powers of … 

 

Prior legislation.  SB 538 (Price) of 2011, granted the BRN authority to be the only agency 

responsible for approving schools of nursing and to receive an appropriate fee from applicants; 

however, provisions related to the Bureau's ability to charge a fee were removed.  The bill was 

vetoed for reasons unrelated to these provisions. 

 

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 

 

Support  

 

California School Nurses Organization 

 

Opposition  

 

None on file. 

 

 

Analysis Prepared by:    Sandra Fried / HIGHER ED. / (916) 319-3960  


