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Date of Hearing: April 23, 2024

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON HIGHER EDUCATION
Mike Fong, Chair
AB 2500 (Mike Fong) — As Amended March 19, 2024

SUBJECT: Student financial aid: application deadlines: postponement.

SUMMARY: Authorizes, the California Student Aid Commission (CSAC) to grant a 30-day
deadline extension to applicants in regions that experience a qualifying event, such as a natural
disaster on a permanent basis. Gives school districts and institutions of higher education (IHEs)
an additional five days to submit a request for a financial aid extension for their students after a
qualifying event, as defined. Specifically, this bill:

1) Authorizes the CSAC director to approve extension requests, as enumerated in the summary
above.

2) Provides an extra five days for a formal request to be submitted to CSAC, from 10 business
days after the qualifying event, as enumerated in the summary above, has occurred or
concluded to 15 business days.

3) Requires CSAC to annually report:
a) Total number of deadline postponement requests that were granted; and,

b) Total number of statewide financial aid applications received after the established
application deadline.

4) Makes clarifying and technical changes to existing law.

EXISTING LAW:

1) Establishes the CSAC for the purpose of administering specified student financial aid
programs (Education Code (EC) Section 69510, et seq.).

2) Authorizes CSAC to grant up to an additional 30 calendar days beyond an application
deadline for any financial aid program administered by CSAC at the discretion of CSAC, if
both of the following conditions are met:

a) The CSAC receives a formal request to postpone the application deadline from either the
superintendent of a school district or community college district or from the president or
chancellor of a California institution of higher education that is eligible to receive state
funds for student financial assistance; and,

b) The CSAC finds that a qualifying event, as defined, has occurred that, in the judgment of
CSAC, has had an adverse effect on the ability of pupils or students within the school
district, community college district (CCD), or an area or region within the state, such as a
city or county, to successfully complete and submit their financial aid applications by the
established application deadline.
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Defines “qualifying event” to mean any event or extenuating circumstance outside of the
control of the pupils or students in an affected school district, CCD, or area or region that, in
the judgment of CSAC, has had an adverse effect on the ability of students within the district
to successfully complete and submit their financial aid applications by an established
statutory deadline. The qualifying event must have occurred or been ongoing during the
period for which financial aid applications were available to submit for the following
academic year, and includes, but is not necessarily limited to, any of the following types of
events:

a) A natural disaster;

b) A state of emergency declared by the Governor or the President of the United States; and,

c) A labor action.

Authorizes CSAC to establish procedures, which may include a standardized application

form, through which a postponement of an application deadline may be requested, as

specified. The formal application to CSAC must be submitted no later than 10 business days
after the occurrence of the qualifying event in question, or, if the qualifying event is ongoing,
no later than 10 business days after the conclusion of the qualifying event, and may include,
at a minimum, all of the following:

a) The authority to grant postponements of application deadlines, to all of the following
programs established in statute, as well as any other state-funded financial aid programs
administered by CSAC:

i) The Cal Grant A Entitlement Program;

ii) The Cal Grant B Entitlement Program established;

ii1) The California Community College Transfer Cal Grant Entitlement Program;
iv) The Competitive Cal Grant A and B Awards program; and,

v) The Middle Class Scholarship Program (MCS).

Requires CASC, if CSAC approves the request for a postponement of an application

deadline, to issue a written notice of the postponement of the deadline within 24 hours of

granting the request. The notice must include the approved postponed deadline, and must be
sent to all of the following or their respective designees:

a) The individual who requested the extension;

b) The State Superintendent of Public Instruction;

¢) The Governor;



AB 2500
Page 3

d) The Director of Finance;

e) The President of the University of California (UC);

f) The Chancellor of the California State University (CSU);

g) The Chancellor of the California Community Colleges (CCC); and,

h) The chairpersons of the relevant fiscal and policy committees of the Legislature.

6) Requires that when CSAC approves a request for a postponement of an application deadline,
CSAC must post all of the following on the CSAC website:

a) The approved postponed deadline; and,

b) The public school district, CCD, or area or region, such as a city or county, to which the
approved postponed deadline applies (EC Section 69513.2).

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown

COMMENTS: Background. Existing law authorizes CSAC to grant and approve financial aid
application extensions if local educational agencies (LEAs) and IHEs submit formal requests.
According to CSAC, LEAs have been underutilizing requests for financial aid deadline
extensions. This has resulted in students submitting late applications, leaving large amounts of
financial aid on the table and contributing to lower rates of college enrollment, especially among
students in rural areas of the State.

Further, CSAC indicates that between March 3 and April 1, 2018, of the 6,343 students who
submitted late financial aid applications, 4,106 (65%) would have been eligible for extensions
due to emergency conditions. Students who submit late applications lose out on tens of thousands
of dollars in aid. Students attending the UC and CSU are missing out on up to $19,276 and
$9,718 in state aid (Cal Grants and MCS) respectively.

According to CSAC, in 2022-23, 17 eligible counties submitted zero extension requests, with 16
of them being rural counties. The majority of extension requests came from urban and suburban
counties in Southern California. Rural counties saw a higher percentage of students submitting
late applications, 32% more compared to urban, and 20% more compared to suburban.

Lastly, in 2023-24, only 775 (6.5%) of the possible 10,342 eligible students benefited from the
extensions.

Purpose of this measure. According to the author, “financial aid plays a crucial role in expanding
access to higher education, which continues to be the state’s strongest tool for increasing the
social mobility and financial stability of millions of families. However, sometimes due to
circumstances outside of their control, thousands of eligible students submit late financial aid
applications, forfeiting thousands of dollars in aid.”
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This measure makes it easier for education officials to request, and for CSAC to grant, the
extensions necessary for students affected by unforeseen events to receive financial aid. It allows
CSAC’s executive director to grant extensions without a meeting of commissioners, extends the
period that requests for extensions can be made, and streamlines extensions in cases of declared
emergencies.

The author notes that, “higher education is a proven tool for social and economic mobility, and
equity. Rural students in particular, in addition to smaller school districts, are underrepresented
in higher education for a number of reasons - social stigma, distance to institutions of higher
education, access to the internet, and more. CSAC’s data shows that rural districts are not
utilizing extension requests despite being eligible, experiencing a higher percentage of late
applications and less aid being awarded. This bill helps underrepresented students access higher
education.”

Arguments in support. According to CSAC, sponsors of this measure, “this bill amends statutes
established by AB 1774 (Bonta, 2019) that allow the Commission to grant extensions of up to 30
days to the financial aid deadline in certain qualifying events. AB 2500 streamlines and adds
flexibility to the extension request process for institutions, while improving the Commission’s
ability to quickly review such requests.”

Further, CSAC states that, “AB 2500 increases the efficiency of this process through authorizing
the Executive Director of the Commission to approve requests, automatically applying
extensions in the case of emergencies declared by the Governor or President, and adding
additional time for school districts and institutions of higher education to submit requests. The
amendments are a step forward in ensuring equitable access to higher education by giving
students affected by emergencies the time they need to apply for financial aid. Especially for
smaller, rural school districts that may not be aware of this option, these amendments would help
increase participation and student access to thousands of dollars in state aid that would otherwise
be left unused.”

Prior legislation. AB 1774 (Rob Bonta), Chapter 524, Statutes of 2019, in part, authorizes CSAC
to postpone an application deadline of up to 30 calendar days for any financial aid program it
administers for regions that have experienced natural disasters, states of emergency, or labor
actions.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:

Support

California Student Aid Commission (Sponsor)

Citrus College

Faculty Association of California Community Colleges
Institute for College Access & Success; the

John Burton Advocates for Youth

Lake Tahoe Community College

Mt. San Antonio College

Office of The Riverside County Superintendent of Schools
Riverside County Public K-12 School District Superintendents
Santa Rosa Junior College Student Financial Services
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Southern California College Attainment Network
Unite-LA, Inc.

University of California

Young Invincibles

Opposition
None on file.
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