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Date of Hearing:  April 21, 2015 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON HIGHER EDUCATION 

Jose Medina, Chair 

AB 1307 McCarty – As Amended April 14, 2015 

SUBJECT:  Working Families Student Fee Transparency and Accountability Act 

SUMMARY:  Prohibits the California State University (CSU) and the University of California 

(UC) from increasing fees above 2014-15 levels, except as authorized in the annual Budget Act.    

Specifically, this bill:   

1) Prohibits the CSU Board of Trustees (Trustees) from charging more than $5,472 in 

systemwide tuition and fees, except as authorized in the annual Budget Act, to a California 

resident of the CSU. 

2) Prohibits the UC Board of Regents, as a condition of receipt of state funding in the annual 

Budget Act from charging more than $12,192 in systemwide tuition and fees, except as 

authorized in the annual Budget Act, to a California resident of the UC. 

3) Mandates CSU, and UC as a condition of receipt of state funds for student financial 

assistance, compliance with specific provisions of the Working Family Student Fee 

Transparency and Accountability Act (Student Fee Act), as follows:  

a) Requires, instead of encourages, as changes in mandatory systemwide fees and financial 

aid are being considered, the impact of changes to be explained to students; 

b) Requires, instead of encourages, students to be consulted before increases on mandatory 

systemwide fees are proposed; 

c) Requires, instead of encourages, adequate advance notice to be provided to students 

regarding future mandatory systemwide fees;  

d) Requires, instead of encourages, all current and prospective students to be provided 

timely information concerning student financial aid; 

e) Requires, rather than encourages, the state's public colleges and universities ensure 

transparency in the uses of mandatory systemwide fee revenue and the rationale for 

implementing mandatory systemwide fee increases; and,  

f) Requires, rather than urges, CSU and UC to maintain their commitment to institutional 

financial aid programs by ensuring at least 33% of fee increase revenues are set aside for 

institutional student aid. 

EXISTING LAW:  Requires, under the Student Fee Act, UC and CSU follow specific notice, 

consultation, and timeframe requirements when approving student fee increases. (Education 

Code Section 66028 – 66028.6)   

 

FISCAL EFFECT:  Unknown 
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COMMENTS:  Student fee policy.  Fees and General Fund (GF) support work interchangeably 

to fund the core instructional missions of the segments.  The state's portion essentially subsidizes 

the amount paid by students in the form of fees.  Because of this link, fees have increased steeply 

during difficult budget years (generally also years where a down-economy makes families less 

able to pay for increases) and then declined when state support could be provided to the 

segments.   

Through 1996, fees at California public postsecondary institutions were governed by the Maddy-

Dills Act, which required fees to be gradual, moderate and predictable; increases to be limited to 

10% a year; and fixed at least ten months prior to the fall term in which they were to become 

effective.  However, when the state faced serious budget challenges the provisions of the Act 

were set aside in order to provide the CSU Trustees and the UC Regents flexibility in dealing 

with the lack of GF support.  In 1996, the Act was allowed to sunset.   

In 2012, AB 970 (Fong, Chapter 620) established the Student Fee Act to require UC and CSU 

follow specific notice and consultation requirements when approving student fee increases: 

1) UC and CSU are required to follow prescribed public notice and student consultation 

procedures before adopting an increase in mandatory systemwide tuition and fees for resident 

students; 

2) UC and CSU are required to develop a list of factors to consider when recommending a fee 

increase; 

3) UC and CSU are required to provide the Legislature on annual reports on tuition and fees, 

financial aid, and total cost of attendance.   

4) The Legislative Analyst's Office (LAO) is required to report on CSU and UC compliance 

with the Student Fee Act.  

Governor's multi-year plan.  Following the passage of Proposition 30 in 2012, the Governor 

proposed a multi-year funding plan that assumes no tuition fee increases over four years; 

specifically, the plan called for 5% GF growth for CSU and UC in 2013-14 and 2014-15, and 4% 

growth in 2015-16 and 2016-17.  The Governor has also indicated that UC and CSU should 

anticipate 4% increases in 2017-18 and 2018-19.  Both CSU and UC have indicated that the 

Governor's proposed 4% increases do not sufficiently ensure access and quality. 

 

CSU budget request.  In response to GF support deemed inadequate by CSU, since 2009, CSU 

indicates it has annually turned away between 10,000 and 30,000 qualified California applicants.  

At its November 2014 meeting, the CSU Trustees voted to approve a budget that does not 

increase student fees, but instead calls for the state to provide an additional $97 million in GF 

support.  With this additional funding, CSU would increase enrollment by 3% (10,000 full-time 

students) and focus on student success and completion initiatives.   

 

UC budget request.  UC indicates that despite inadequate GF support in recent years, it has 

accepted all eligible students; although, not necessarily accepted to the campus or campuses to 

which they applied.  UC contends that it is currently serving 7,000 "unfunded" California 

students.  On November 20, 2014, the UC Board of Regents voted to increase (1) tuition, (2) 

student services fees, and (3) professional degree supplemental tuition by 5% in each academic 

year from 2015-16 through 2019-20.  The resident undergraduate tuition increase would raise 
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tuition and fees from the current $12,192 to $15,564 by 2019-20.  UC indicates that, depending 

on the level of state funding received, charges may increase by a smaller amount or remain flat 

over the course of the five-year period.   

 

Governor's January budget proposal.  In January of 2015, Governor Brown proposed, consistent 

with the multi-year plan, a 4% increase in GF support for UC and CSU.  The plan specifies that 

the 4% increase for UC is contingent upon keeping tuition at 2011-12 levels in 2015-16, not 

increasing nonresident enrollment in 2015-16, and taking action to control costs.  Of note, 

Assembly and Senate leadership have called for increasing funding to UC and CSU above the 

Governor's proposed increases.   

 

UC response to Administrative and Legislative concerns. On February 18, 2015, UC President 

Napolitano announced that UC would not implement the proposed tuition increase for the 2015 

summer quarter.  On March 3, 2015, President Napolitano told the Assembly Budget 

Subcommittee No. 2 on Education Finance that UC campuses have been instructed to keep 

enrollment of California students flat, and placing "unfunded students" on waitlists and offering 

deferred enrollment.  President Napolitano also indicated that UCLA and Berkeley would cap 

nonresident enrollment next year at this year's current levels.      

 

UC noncompliance with the Student Fee Act. On March 25, 2015, the LAO released its annual 

report regarding UC and CSU compliance with the Student Fee Act.  LAO found that CSU has 

not increased resident mandatory systemwide charges in the past year and therefore was not 

required to follow any consultation or notification procedures required by existing law. UC, on 

the other hand, was deemed by LAO to be not in compliance with most of the provisions of the 

law.  According to the LAO, UC reported it is not legally obligated to comply with the law 

because of its constitutional autonomy.  LAO noted that of the six statutory requirements 

regarding public notice and student consultation, UC failed to comply with four requirements.  

Increasing fees, reducing access, controlling costs.  As previously noted, student fee levels are 

tied to GF support.  In budget years where GF support is not provided, traditionally UC and CSU 

have responded through (1) increasing student fees, or (2) reducing California resident 

enrollment (or both).  Arguably, controlling and reducing higher education costs is an 

alternative; however, it is unclear how this alternative would affect education quality.  This bill 

would prohibit CSU and UC from increasing fees absent approval in the Budget Act.  The 

Committee may wish to consider, if adequate GF support is not provided and the Legislature 

does not authorize a fee increase, the effect on CSU and UC access and quality.   

 

The author and committee may wish to consider the following amendments: 

66028.7. 

(a) Notwithstanding any other law, the trustees shall not implement an increase charge more 

than five thousand four hundred seventy-two dollars ($5,472) in systemwide tuition and fees, 

except as authorized in the annual Budget Act, to a California resident student of the California 

State University, if the Legislative Analyst has determined, in the report required pursuant to 

section 66028.6(b), that the trustees failed to comply with the requirements of this article prior to 

the approval of the increase. 

(b) Notwithstanding Section 67400, as a condition of the receipt of state funding in the annual 

Budget Act, the regents shall not implement an increase charge more than twelve thousand one 
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hundred ninety-two dollars ($12,192) in systemwide tuition and fees, except as authorized in the 

annual Budget Act, to a California resident student of the University of California, if the 

Legislative Analyst has determined, in the report required pursuant to section 66028.6(b), that 

the regents failed to comply with the requirements of this article prior to the approval of the 

increase. 

(c)  An increase in systemwide tuition and fees for California resident students adopted pursuant 

to subsection (a) or (b) may be rescinded by the Legislature in the annual Budget Act. 

Related legislation.  AB 42 (Kim), pending in this committee, finds and declares the intent of the 

Legislature to increase funding to the UC, CSU, and CCC to ensure that increases in mandatory 

systemwide fees or tuition are not required during the period when the higher tax rates imposed 

by the Schools and Local Public Safety Protection Act of 2012 will be in effect; and, prohibits, 

from the 2015-16 fiscal year to the 2018-19 fiscal year, mandatory systemwide fees or tuition 

charged at CCC, CSU and UC from exceeding the 2014-15 levels. 

 

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 

Support 

None on File 

Opposition 

California State University 

Analysis Prepared by: Laura Metune / HIGHER ED. / (916) 319-3960 


