
SB 1059 
 Page  1 

 

Date of Hearing:  June 14, 2016  

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON HIGHER EDUCATION 

Jose Medina, Chair 

SB 1059 (Monning) – As Amended April 18, 2016 

[Note: This bill is double referred to the Assembly Veterans' Affairs Committee and will be 

heard as it relates to issues under its jurisdiction.] 

SENATE VOTE:  36-0 

SUBJECT:  Postsecondary education:  Title 38 awards 

SUMMARY:  Would authorize unaccredited law schools, as specified, to participate in federal 

veteran's education benefits.  Specifically, this bill:   

1) Would authorize an institution that obtains and provides evidence to the California State 

Approving Agency for Veteran's Education (CSAAVE) that it has been "accredited" by the 

Committee of Bar Examiners, to receive approval from CSAAVE for participation in Title 38 

veteran's education benefits, provided the institution does both of the following:  

a) Provides disclosures to applicants of the school who are eligible for federal Title 38 

awards of the institution's tuition costs, refund policies, class sizes, number of faculty, 

attrition rates, bar passage data, and employment outcomes of graduates; and,  

b) Is in compliance with all applicable CSAAVE rules and regulations and is in good 

standing with the Committee of Bar Examiners.    

EXISTING LAW:   

1) Requires the Committee of Bar Examiners (CBE) of the State Bar of California to be 

responsible for the approval, regulation, and oversight of degree-granting law schools, as 

specified; and provides, among other outlined requirements, a person that is authorized to 

practice law in California to complete an educational component, which can be met through 

any of the following (Business and Professions Code 6060 et. seq.): 

a) Receipt of a juris doctor degree or a bachelor of laws degree by a law school accredited 

by the CBE or by the American Bar Association (ABA). 

b) Studied law diligently and in good faith for at least four years in any of the following 

manners: 

i) In a law school that is authorized or approved to confer professional degrees and 

requires classroom attendance of its students for a minimum of 270 hours a year. 

ii) In a law office in this state and under the personal supervision of a member of the 

State Bar of California who is, and for at least the last five years continuously has 

been, engaged in the active practice of law. It is the duty of the supervising attorney 
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to render any periodic reports to the examining committee as the committee may 

require. 

iii) In the chambers and under the personal supervision of a judge of a court of record of 

this state. It is the duty of the supervising judge to render any periodic reports to the 

examining committee as the committee may require. 

iv) By instruction in law from a correspondence law school authorized or approved to 

confer professional degrees by this state, which requires 864 hours of preparation and 

study per year for four years. 

v) By any combination of the aforementioned methods. 

2) Requires CSAAVE, a federally funded agency that operates under an annual reimbursement 

contract with the United States Veteran's Affairs (VA), to review, evaluate and approve 

educational and training programs for veteran's benefits.  Among other requirements for 

approval by CSAAVE, California law requires an institution which grants academic degrees 

to be accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education 

(USDE).   (Education Code Sections 67100, 67101, 67102). 

FISCAL EFFECT:  Unknown.  Negligible fiscal impact according to the Senate Rule 28.8.  

COMMENTS:  Background.  In response to concerns that unscrupulous for-profit colleges were 

targeting veteran students in order to access federal Title 38 education benefits, and leaving 

students with high debt levels and low-value degrees or certificates, the Legislature enacted AB 

2099 (Frazier), Chapter 676, Statutes of 2014.   

AB 2099 required colleges approved by CSAAVE to (1) be accredited by an accrediting agency 

recognized by the USDE, if the institution grants academic degrees; (2) disclose information 

regarding licensure examination passage rates to prospective students, if applicable; and, (3) to 

be approved by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (thereby making their students 

eligible for a series of consumer protections, including disclosures, complaint resolution, and 

access to a tuition recovery fund) if the institution is a for-profit college.   

Purpose of this bill.  According to the author, most law schools in California are approved by the 

ABA, which is a USDE-recognized accrediting agency.  Due to the cost-prohibitive nature of 

ABA's approval requirements, 19 law schools in California, both non-profit and for-profit, have 

instead opted to become accredited by the CBE.  According to the author, CBE-accredited law 

schools tend to attract a different student population, including older, working students, students 

with families, or those seeking a second career and require part-time night courses in order to 

achieve a juris doctorate.  The author notes, as further outlined below, CBE-accreditation 

provides for review and oversight of quality standards. CBE, however, is not recognized by the 

USDE, and therefore CBE-accredited institutions do not met the CSAAVE accreditation 

requirements established in AB 2099.  This bill would authorize CBE-accredited law schools to 

be approved by CSAAVE for purposes of Title 38 veterans' education benefits.  

CBE accreditation requirements.  CBE-accreditation of law schools is governed by Division 2, 

Accredited Law School Rules, of Title 4, the Admissions and Educational Standards.  These 
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Standards and their implementing Guidelines provide for the governance, administration, 

curriculum requirements, and academic and admission policies with which a school must 

comply.  The Standards and Guidelines include all of the following provisions and requirements: 

1) Acknowledgement that CBE does not intervene in disputes between a student and law 

school.  However, CBE retains complaints about a law school and considers those complaints 

in assessing the law school's compliance with the rules. 

 

2) The ability of CBE to provide information publicly, upon written request (Rule 4.108 

outlines that certain portions of applications, summaries of inspection reports and portions of 

annual reports may be made available upon written request). 

 

3) Application requirements and procedures, including an inspection visit for every applicant 

for accreditation in order to verify the information submitted by the school.  The team 

inspecting the institution must provide an inspection report. 

 

4) Standards governing CBE-accredited law schools covering institutional integrity, 

governance, deans and faculty, educational and scholastic standards, admissions, libraries, 

financial resources, and records. 

 

5) Institutions are required to exceed a minimum cumulative bar pass rate (MPR), which is 

currently set at 40%.  According to information on the CBE website, two institutions do not 

meet the MPR: Southern California Institute of Law has an MPR of 25.32, and Pacific Coast 

University School of Law has a pass rate of 28.20.   

 

6) An annual compliance report is required.  Institutions are also subject to periodic inspection 

and are required to submit a self-study prior to a periodic inspection. 

 

7) Rules also require notification to CBE of a major change, which includes various changes in 

the academic program, change of location, ownership, name, from a for-profit to non-profit, 

or other change as outlined.  

 

8) Noncompliance actions by CBE can include termination of accreditation; schools are 

provided a hearing and appeal process prior to accreditation termination. 

 

Bar rates by law school type.  The following table represents the pass rates for the general bar 

examination, by law school type, for the July 2015 bar examination.  

First-Timers Repeaters All Takers 

 Took  Pass  Pass Rate Took  Pass  Pass Rate Took  Pass  Pass Rate 

ABA-Approved  3535  2411  68.2% 823  194  23.6% 4358  2605  59.8% 

CBE-Accredited  335  71  21.2% 469  37  7.9% 804  108  13.4% 

CBE-Unaccredited  73  16  21.9% 207  15  7.2% 280  31  11.0% 

 

Disclosure requirements. This bill would require, for purposes of CSAAVE-approval, CBE-

accredited law schools to provide specified disclosures to applicants of the school who are 

eligible for federal Title 38 awards.  Committee staff recommends this provision be amended to 
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require this disclosure be provided to all prospective students.  Specified disclosures contained 

in this bill include tuition, refund policies, class sizes, number of faculty, attrition rates, bar 

passage data, and employment outcomes of graduates.  However, language in the bill does not 

specify how this data would be calculated.  Committee staff understands the author's intent is 

that data would be reported consistent with the reporting requirements contained in SB 1281 

(Block), currently pending in the Assembly Judiciary Committee, which would amend the 

Business and Professions Code to require disclosure from all non-ABA approved law schools.  

Committee staff recommends incorporating and/or cross referencing those reporting 

definitions and requirements in the Education Code section amended by this bill.  

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 

Support 

Alton & Allen, Inc. 

American G.I. Forum of California 

AMVETS-Department of California 

Association of California Accredited Law Schools 

California Association of County Veterans Service Officers 

California State University, Monterey Bay 

Cal Northern School of Law 

City of Seaside, California – Office of the Mayor 

Hartnell Community College District 

Law Office of Michael Sampson 

Lincoln Law School of Sacramento 

Monterey College of Law 

Monterey County Business Council 

Panetta Institute for Public Policy 

Trinity Law School 

Veterans Tranisition Center of Monterey County 

VFW-Department of California 

13 Individuals 

Opposition 

None on File 

Analysis Prepared by: Laura Metune / HIGHER ED. / (916) 319-3960


