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Date of Hearing:  June 14, 2016  

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON HIGHER EDUCATION 

Jose Medina, Chair 

SB 1192 (Hill) – As Amended April 6, 2016 

[Note: This bill is double referred to the Assembly Business and Professions Committee.] 

SENATE VOTE:  37-0  

SUBJECT:  Private postsecondary education:  California Private Postsecondary Education Act 

of 2009 

SUMMARY:  Provides for various changes to the California Private Postsecondary Education 

Act of 2009 (Act) and the oversight of the Act provided by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary 

Education (BPPE).  Specifically, this bill:   

1) Provides BPPE the authority to give extensions on the timeline for unaccredited degree 

granting institutions to become accredited according to certain evidence. 

 
2) Establishes an Office of Student Assistance and Relief (Office) to serve as a primary point 

of contact to address the needs of private postsecondary education students.  Specifies that 

the duties of the Office include but are not limited to providing assistance to students, 

conducting proactive outreach to students, administering the Student Tuition Recovery Fund 

(STRF) and overseeing the registration of institutions that do not have a physical presence in 

this state and are offering distance education to California students.  Requires the Office to 

establish and maintain a website to provide information to students about their rights and 

protections available to them as well as information about free services available to students 

provided by a local nonprofit community service organization with demonstrated experience 

assisting students in areas like legal services and student loan matters.   

 
3) Provides recourse through the STRF to students impacted by the abrupt closure of 

Corinthian Colleges, Inc. (CCI). 

 
4) States the intent of the Legislature to require a private postsecondary educational institution 

that does not maintain a physical presence in this state and offers distance education to 

California students to file a surety bond for the benefit of students suffering economic loss.  

Requires these institutions to register with BPPE.  

 
5) Authorizes BPPE staff to issue a citation, with a fine not to exceed $5,000, before leaving an 

institution when non-minor violations of the Act are detected during an inspection. 

 
6) Increases the penalty for operating an institution without BPPE approval from $50,000 to 

$100,000. 

 
7) Requires the Director to appoint an enforcement monitor for a period of two years to 

monitor the BPPE’s enforcement efforts, with a specific concentration on the adequacy of 

bureau compliance inspections, handling and processing of student complaints and timely 

application of sanctions or discipline imposed on institutions and persons in order to protect 
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the public.  Requires the enforcement monitor to submit reports to the Director and 

Legislature and be available to make oral reports to both if requested to do so. 

 
8) Makes various technical changes. 

 
EXISTING LAW:  Establishes the Act until January 1, 2017, and requires BPPE, within the 

Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA) to, among other things, review, investigate and approve 

private postsecondary institutions (or institutions), programs and courses of instruction pursuant 

to the Act and authorizes BPPE to take formal actions against an institution/school to ensure 

compliance with the Act and even seek closure of an institution/school if determined necessary.  

The Act requires unaccredited degree granting institutions to be accredited by an accrediting 

agency recognized by the United States Department of Education (USDE) by 2020.  The Act 

also provides for specified disclosures and enrollment agreements for students, requirements for 

cancellations, withdrawals and refunds, and that the BPPE shall administer the Student Tuition 

Recovery Fund (STRF) to provide refunds to students affected by the possible closure of an 

institution/school.  (Education Code Section 94800 et. seq.) 

FISCAL EFFECT:  According to the Senate Appropriations Committee:  

 

Bureau:  Net increased costs of about $410,000 in the 2016-17 fiscal year and $360,000 ongoing.  

This estimate includes the Bureau’s anticipated need for six positions and $829,000 in fiscal year 

2016-17 and $781,000 annually thereafter.  It also includes increased revenues of about $420,000 

($300,000 attributed to the fine increase from operating without a proper approval and about 

$120,000 from the new authority to issue citations, as specified.  To the extent there are 

additional fines or citations issued, increased revenues would be generated.)  The Private 

Postsecondary Education Administration Fund has a structural imbalance and is expected to 

become insolvent in the 2017-18 fiscal year without accounting for the implementation of this 

bill.  Absent a different funding source or creation of an additional fee, the fund could become 

insolvent sooner.  (Special Funds)  

 

Student Tuition Recovery Fund Claim Payout: Unknown payments to students enrolled at a 

campus or an out-of-state online program of a Corinthian Colleges Inc. institution.  If 10 percent 

of estimated impacted students applied and were approved for a claim in a given year, costs 

would be $5.8 million.  Actual costs would depend upon a number of factors including the 

number of impacted students making a successful claim and the amount of the claim payouts.  

(Special Funds) 

 

Minor costs to the California Student Aid Commission, the California Community College 

Chancellor’s Office, and the California Department of Veterans Affairs to fulfill the consultation 

requirement with the Office of Student Assistance and Relief, as required by this bill.  It is 

unknown the additional duties, and potential cost pressures, that might result from the required 

consultation.  (General Fund) 

 

COMMENTS:  Background on BPPE Sunset Review.  As previously outlined, existing law 

sunsets the Act on January 1, 2017.  Legislation is necessary to extend the sunset date of the Act 

and the oversight provided by the BPPE.  On March 28, 2016, the Assembly Higher Education 

Committee and the Senate Business, Professions and Economic Development Committee were 

joined by the Senate Education Committee and the Assembly Business and Professions 

Committee to conduct a Sunset Review hearing of the BPPE.  This bill is intended to implement 
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legislative changes as discussed and recommended during the Sunset Review process.  

Additional information regarding the BPPE and recommended changes to the law can be found 

in the Background Paper prepared by Committee staff, available on the Committee website. 

Background on BPPE.  BPPE (or Bureau) is responsible for oversight of private postsecondary 

educational institutions operating with a physical presence in California.  Established by  

AB 48 (Portantino, Chapter 310, Statutes of 2009) after numerous legislative attempts to remedy 

the laws and structure governing regulation of private postsecondary institutions, the bill took 

effect January 1, 2010, to make many substantive changes that created a foundation for oversight 

and gave the BPPE enforcement tools to ensure schools comply with the law.  SB 1247 (Lieu, 

Chapter 840, Statutes of 2014) reauthorized the Act until January 1, 2017 and made a series of 

improvements aimed at reducing backlogs and increasing meaningful enforcement.  The Act 

directs BPPE to, among numerous outlined activities, approve institutions and programs, 

establish and enforce minimum operating standards to ensure quality education, provide students 

a meaningful opportunity to have their complaints resolved, and ensure that institutions offer 

accurate information to prospective students on school and student performance.  BPPE is also 

required to actively investigate and combat unlicensed activity, administer the STRF, and 

conduct outreach and education activities for students and institutions within the state. 

 

Background on regulated industry.  The landscape of schools regulated under BPPE has shifted 

in recent decades.  Today, most students attending BPPE-regulated institutions are enrolled in 

multi-campus, publicly-traded institutions with a national presence.  According to the 2014 

Annual Report (self-reported data from BPPE-approved institutions), of the 275,624 students 

enrolled, 161,226 were enrolled in institutions that receive federal Title IV financial aid.  These 

337 institutions received about $5.8 billion in federal Title IV financial aid.  In response to high-

profile state and federal investigations that revealed deceptive and illegal practices by some 

institutions within this sector.  Federal regulators responded by increasing student outcome and 

institutional accountability measures.  Specifically, in California, BPPE’s approval can enable 

these institutions to access the Title IV program; USDE relies on the Bureau to provide oversight 

and student protection.    

 

Major changes to the Act contained in SB 1192.  The author notes that "students, the public and 

quality private postsecondary educational institutions are best served by a well-functioning 

regulatory entity that effectively enforces the Act.  The Bureau has faced significant difficulties 

in implementing the law.   It is important that California’s approval and oversight of an 

institution assures minimum quality and student protections."  To that end, this bill proposes the 

following major changes to the Act: 

 

1) Definition of Licensure. 

 

Background.  Under the Act, if an institution offers an educational program in a profession, 

occupation, trade, or career field that requires licensure in California, the institution must have 

educational program approval from the appropriate state licensing agency for any student who 

completes that program to sit for any required licensure exam.   

 

This bill.  Amends the definition of licensure to explicitly include certification and registration 

for purposes of BPPE approval of a program intended to lead to licensure and adds requirements 

for institutions to disclose voluntary certification or registration available to a student. 
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Staff recommendations.  The University of Phoenix has expressed concern that this new 

definition and required disclosures could include non-governmental, voluntary licensure and 

certification to which an institution would not be aware.  BPPE reports that the existing 

definition of licensure includes mandatory California certification or registration.  Therefore, 

Committee staff recommends removing changes to the definition of licensure, and instead 

requiring, during the enrollment process, an institution offering educational programs designed 

to lead to positions in a profession, occupation, trade, or career field where voluntary licensure 

by a government agency is available, to provide all students seeking to enroll in those programs 

with a written copy of the voluntary government agency licensure requirements. 

   

2) Unaccredited Degree Granting Programs. 

 

Background.  SB 1247 amended the Act to require that degree granting programs be accredited.  

Institutions offering a degree that seek BPPE approval are now required to either be accredited 

by an accrediting agency recognized by the USDE to offer the degree(s) or have an accreditation 

plan, approved by BPPE, for the institution to become fully accredited within five years of the 

BPPE issuance of a provisional approval to operate.  For these schools, the Act requires 

compliance with certain student disclosures about accreditation, review by a visiting committee 

and degree limitation requirements.  SB 1247 also outlined a process for institutions that are 

currently approved by BPPE and offer degrees to submit an accreditation plan to the Bureau by 

July 1, 2015, to obtain pre-accreditation by July 1, 2017, to obtain accreditation by July 1, 2020, 

and to comply with various student disclosure and visiting committee review requirements.   

 

This bill.  Due to concerns that unaccredited degree granting institutions may not be able to meet 

the timeframes established in the law to become accredited, but are still actively working toward 

the accreditation requirement, this bill provides BPPE the authority to give extensions on the 

timeline for unaccredited degree granting institutions to become accredited according to certain 

evidence provided by the institution. 

 

Staff recommendations.  Technical and clarifying amendments to this section have been 

requested by the BPPE and staff recommends these amendments be adopted. 

 

3) Office of Student Assistance and Relief (OSAR). 

 

Background.  The Bureau has focused significant efforts to provide outreach to schools, 

including new workshops to assist with application completion and web-based tools to allow 

institutions to better understand how they can be compliant with the Act and Bureau regulations.  

The Bureau does not appear to focus similar efforts on student outreach to inform students about 

the Bureau’s work and available recourse for students.  For example, following the closure of 

Corinthian Colleges, Inc. (CCI), BPPE estimated about 6,000 students would be immediately 

eligible for tuition recovery under the STRF.  BPPE reports that only about 300 CCI students 

have filed STRF applications.  The chart below identifies similarly low STRF participation rates 

for other colleges that have closed unlawfully in recent years. 
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School Name 

# of 

Students at 

Closure 

Claims 

Received 
Approved Denied Pending 

% STRF 

Claims 

Approved 

WyoTech (CCI) 1586 100 34 11 55 2.1% 

Bryman (+Bio Health) 311 89 39 31 19 12.5% 

Career Colleges of 

America 
771 127 44 73 10 5.7% 

Everest (CCI) 4336 214 75 40 99 1.7% 

Four D College 620 55 17 9 29 2.7% 

IME 480 317 180 129 8 37.5% 

 

This bill.  The OSAR, created by this bill, would serve as a primary point of contact to address 

the needs of private postsecondary education students, and would administer the STRF.  The bill 

would also provide a student who was enrolled at a California campus of CCI, or was a 

California student enrolled in an online program offered by an out-of-state campus of a CCI 

institution, who also meets all of the other eligibility requirements, if the student was enrolled as 

of June 20, 2014, is eligible for STRF.  The bill also states the intent of the Legislature to require 

a private postsecondary education institution that does not maintain a physical presence in this 

state and offers distance education to California students to file a surety bond for the benefit of 

students suffering economic loss.   

 

Staff recommendations.   

 

OSAR.  Committee staff recommends the OSAR be established in its own Article of the Act 

(outside of STRF) and managed by an ombudsperson, which is appointed by the director of the 

DCA and responsible for reporting to the director and the BPPE Advisory Committee.  

Additionally, the OSAR, and not the BPPE, should be responsible for outreach to students, 

coordinating with relevant governmental and non-governmental agencies, and conducting a Pilot 

Program to provide grants to community-based organizations to assist students harmed by recent 

school closures with receiving relief under loan forgiveness and STRF. 

Online Institutions.  Committee staff recommends, rather than requiring institutions to file a 

surety bond, these institutions are required to participate in STRF for their California students. 

4) Compliance and Enforcement.  

 

Background.  BPPE faces a significant backlog of complaints and investigations associated with 

internal referrals resulting from compliance inspections.  Unlike other licensing agencies, the 

Bureau does not have the authority to issue citations for non-minor violations detected during a 

compliance inspection.  Additionally, concerns have been expressed as to whether BPPE is 

properly identifying and responding to institutional violations of law; in 2013, the Bureau of 

State Audits found that the Bureau was failing to properly and consistently enforce the Act.   

 

This bill: authorizes Bureau staff to issue a citation, with a fine not to exceed $5,000, before 

leaving an institution when non-minor violations of the Act are detected during an inspection; 

increases the penalty for operating an institution without BPPE approval from $50,000 to 

$100,000; and, requires the Director to appoint an enforcement monitor for a period of two years 

to monitor the BPPE’s enforcement efforts. 
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Staff recommendations.  The California Association of Private Postsecondary Schools (CAPPS) 

has expressed serious concern regarding due process violations that could occur from allowing 

BPPE to issue citations at compliance inspections.  BPPE has indicated that it believes its 

backlog problem could be addressed, instead, by allowing evidence collected during a 

compliance inspection to be used in support of issuing a citation.  Staff recommends adopting 

BPPE's recommended amendments.  Staff recommends approval of the BPPE requested 

amendment to require institutions to notify BPPE of investigations by other governmental 

agencies. 

 

Additional issues and requested amendments.  A number of organizations have requested 

additional amendments to the Act and this bill.  What follows is a summary of those requests and 

Committee staff recommended actions. 

 

1) BPPE Fees.  CAPPS notes that under the current fee structure, many schools with fewer 

school sites, fewer students and less revenue are paying more in fees than schools with a 

much larger footprint.  CAPPS has requested "fee fairness" be included in SB 1192.   

 

Committee staff understands that the author is working with BPPE and DCA regarding a 

revised fee schedule that will more appropriately reflect the BPPE workloads and the 

size/revenue of BPPE-regulated institutions.  This fee schedule is anticipated to be included 

in SB 1039 (Hill), pending in Assembly Business and Professions Committee, which 

contains revised fee schedules for a number of DCA Boards and Bureaus.  

 

2) Consumer Disclosures.  Ashford University has requested amendments to better align 

disclosures (School Performance Fact Sheet or SPFS) that are required under the Act with 

disclosures required by accrediting agencies and the federal government.  A coalition of 

organizations that includes SEIU, Public Advocates, and the Veteran's Legal Clinic has also 

requested amendments to the SPFS, specifically regarding employment.  SB 1247 required 

the Bureau to report to the Legislature by January 1, 2017 regarding student disclosures and 

possible statutory amendments to streamline and enhance the SPFS.  

 

Committee staff recommends that changes to the SPFS be delayed until after the report 

required under current law is submitted to the Legislature. 

 

3) STRF Collection.  Ashford University has requested an amendment to clarify that the BPPE 

must notify institutions prior to beginning STRF collection.  BPPE reports that altering the 

STRF assessment is a regulatory change that requires BPPE follow notification procedures 

outlined in the Administrative Procedures Act.  Due to this, the change requested by Ashford 

does not appear necessary.      

 

4) OSAR Appropriation.  The Legal Aid Foundation of Los Angeles (LAFLA) has expressed 

concern that the OSAR will require an appropriation in order to effectively conduct its duties.  

Committee staff recommends this issue be raised in the Appropriations Committee. 

 

5) OSAR consultation.  LAFLA has requested that OSAR be required to consult with legal aid 

foundations in the performance of its duties.  Committee staff recommends that OSAR be 

authorized to consult with relevant community based organizations, as OSAR determines 

necessary in fulfilling its duties.  
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6) STRF.  A coalition of consumer organizations has requested a variety of amendments to 

expand STRF eligibility for students.  Committee staff recommends, of those requests, the 

bill be amended to provide students 4-years to file a STRF claim and to require that student 

loans be formally discharged, rather than an agreement not to collect, before a student's 

STRF eligibility is reduced.    

 

7) Advisory Committee.  Committee staff understands that revisions to the Advisory Committee 

are necessary to improve the operations of the Committee, including removing positions that 

have remained unfilled since 2010, requiring the OSAR ombudsperson to report to the 

Advisory Committee, and requiring that a quorum be comprised of a majority of those 

appointed members.    

 

8) Unintended exemption.  An article by Buzzfeed, (Making the Grade, published on May 26, 

2016) uncovered a series of documents that implicated a non-profit institution operating in 

California for manipulating student records and improperly using funds.  According to the 

article, the college "has no full-time, permanent faculty, despite having a student body larger 

than the undergraduate population of Princeton." In response to the article, BPPE was asked 

to review the institution's compliance with California law.  Committee staff understands that 

BPPE has no jurisdiction to review this institution because it receives an exemption from law 

under Education Code 94847(j).  The Committee may wish to consider removing this 

exemption as it appears the exemption may no longer be serving its original purpose.     

 

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 

Support 

Center for Public Interest Law 

Children's Advocacy Institute 

Consumer Federation of California 

East Bay Community Law Center 

Housing and Economic Rights Advocates 

Legal Aid Foundation of Los Angeles 

Public Advocates 

Public Law Center 

SEIU California 

Veterans Legal Clinic 

Opposition 

Professional Beauty Federation of California 
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